Rings of Newly Weds After Wedding at The Little Vegas Chapel

What is The Legal Age To Get Married in…?

Table of Contents

What Is The Legal Age To Get Married In…? (A Guide To All 50 States)

For a lot of people, the general rule of thumb is that the legal minimum age to get married is 18 years-old. But did you know that some states set the legal minimum requirement as older than that? When you’re getting married, there are lots of things to take into consideration, and making sure you’re abiding by the laws of your respective state plays a huge role in that.

Alabama

In Alabama, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

A person can get married at 16 so long as they have parental permission.

Alaska

In Alaska, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

With parental consent, a person can get married at 16. A minor can get married at 14 only with the permission of a parent and a judge.

Arizona

In Arizona, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

The legal minimum age for marriage with parental consent is 16, and only as long as the other party isn’t more than 3 years older.

Arkansas

In Arkansas, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

The legal minimum age for marriage with parental consent is 17.

California

In California, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

In the case of parental consent, things become much more complicated. While there are exceptions, there is, rightfully so, much investigation and consideration before a decision is made about marriage under the age of 18.

Aside from requiring parental and judicial consent, many days’ worth of meetings and investigations will need to be had before an approval or denial can be given.

Colorado

In Colorado, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

The legal minimum age for marriage with parental consent is 16, under 3 requirements:

  1. Parental consent
  2. A court order
  3. A maximum of a 3 year age gap

Connecticut

In Connecticut, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

The legal minimum age for marriage with parental consent is 16.

Delaware

In Delaware, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18. Minors are not permitted to marry.

Florida

In Florida, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

A person can be married at 17 if 3 requirements have been fulfilled:

  1. Parental permission
  2. Judicial consent
  3. The age difference between potential spouses isn’t more than 2 years

Georgia

In Georgia, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

The legal minimum age for marriage is 17, so long as the minor is emancipated, has completed a “premarital education course,” and is no more than four years younger than the other party.

Hawaii

In Hawaii, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

The legal minimum age for marriage with parental consent is 16. A person can be married at 15 if they have both parental and judicial consent.

Idaho

In Idaho, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

The legal minimum age for marriage with parental consent is 16, so long as the age gap is not more than 3 years.

Illinois

In Illinois, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

The legal minimum age for marriage with parental consent is 16.

Indiana

In Indiana, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

The legal minimum age for marriage with parental consent is 16, so long as the minor is less than 4 years younger than the other party, and has received the consent of a juvenile court judge.

Iowa

In Iowa, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

The legal minimum age for marriage with parental consent is 16.

Kansas

In Kansas, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

The legal minimum age for marriage with parental consent is 16. If judicial consent is given, then a person can get married at 15.

Kentucky

In Kentucky, the legal minimum age for marriage with or without parental consent is 18.

A person can get married at 17 if judicial approval is given.

Louisiana

In Louisiana, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

If parental and judicial approval is granted, then a person can get married as young as 16, but only if the age difference is less than 3 years.

Maine

In Maine, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

The legal minimum age for marriage with parental consent is 16.

Maryland

In Maryland, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

A person can marry at 16 either with parental consent, or if there is proof of pregnancy or the birth of a child.

Massachusetts

In Massachusetts, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

The only requirement for marriage under the age of 18 is both parental and judicial approval.

Michigan

In Michigan, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

The legal minimum age for marriage with parental consent is 16.

Minnesota

In Minnesota, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

Minors are not allowed to marry.

Mississippi

Mississippi has one of the highest legal minimum ages for marriage without parental consent, at 21 years-old.

The legal minimum age for marriage is 17 for males and 15 for females if there is judicial approval and parental consent.

Missouri

In Missouri, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

The legal minimum age for marriage with parental consent is 16. However, no one 21 years of age or older can legally marry anyone under 18.

Montana

In Montana, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

The legal minimum age for marriage with parental consent is 16 and only after two separate counseling sessions have been attended.

Nebraska

Nebraska has one of the highest marriage ages in the United States at 19 years-old without parental consent.

It also has the highest minimum legal age in the nation at 17 years-old so long as there is parental consent.

Nevada

In Nevada, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

Nevada is similar to Nebraska in that the legal minimum age overall is 17, but with 4 requirements that must be met:

  1. The consent of a parent or guardian
  2. Proof of residency in Nevada
  3. A maximum of a 3 year age gap between the potential spouses
  4. A court order within the state

New Hampshire

In New Hampshire, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

A person can marry at the age of 16 if and only if they receive consent of parents and a judge.

New Jersey

In New Jersey, the legal marriage age without parental consent is 18.

Minors are not allowed to marry, even with parental consent.

New Mexico

In New Mexico, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

A person at the age of 16 can get married with written consent of both parents.

New York

In New York, the legal marriage age without parental consent is 18.


Minors are not allowed to be married, even with parental consent.

North Carolina

In North Carolina, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18.

As of 2021, North Carolina signed into effect that a 16 or 17 year-old can get married under two requirements:

  1. The minor receives parental permission and/or a the permission of a judge
  2. The age gap between the potential spouses cannot be four years or more

North Dakota

In North Dakota, the minimum legal age to get married without parental consent is 18.

A person can marry at 16 so long as they have parental consent.

Ohio

In Ohio, the legal minimum age without a parent’s permission is 18.

As of 2019, the overall legal minimum age was set at 17 so long as 2 requirements were met:

  1. Judicial consent is given
  2. The age difference is less than four years

Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, a person can be married without parental consent at the age of 18.

With parental consent a person can marry at 16.

Oregon

In Oregon, you can get married without parental permission at the age of 18.

The legal minimum age you can get married with parental consent is 17. The consent parent must be present with the potential spouse when applying for the marriage license.

Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, the legal minimum age for marriage is 18. Minors are not permitted to marry regardless of parental or judicial consent.

Rhode Island

In Rhode Island, a person can get married without parental consent at the age of 18.

Minors cannot be married at all. In June of 2021, the bill was passed to legally ban any child marriage for any person under 18, without any exemption or exception. The bill was passed into law immediately.

South Carolina

In South Carolina, a person can marry without parental permission at the age of 18.

With parental consent, they can marry at the age of 16.

South Dakota

In South Dakota, the minimum legal age to get married without parental consent is 18.

A person can marry at 16 so long as there is parental consent.

Tennessee

In Tennessee, the legal minimum age for marriage without parental permission is 18.

The overall legal minimum age is 17 under two conditions:

  1. Parental consent is given
  2. There cannot be an age difference of more than four years between the two parties

Texas

In Texas, you can get married without a parent’s permission at the age of 18.

You can get married at the age of 16 if you are considered an “emancipated minor.”

Utah

In Utah, the minimum age you can be married without parental consent is 18.

You can be married at 16 but only with parental and judicial consent.

Vermont

In Vermont, the legal minimum age for marriage without a parent’s permission is 18.

With a parent’s permission, a person can marry at 16.

Virginia

In Virginia, a person can be legally married without parental consent at the age of 18.

So long as court approval is given, a person can legally be married at the age of 16.

Washington

In Washington, you can legally marry at the age of 18 without a parent’s permission.

With parental consent, the legal minimum age is 17. With judicial consent, a person of any age can potentially get married.

West Virginia

In West Virginia, a person can legally marry without parental consent at the age of 18.

A person can marry at the age of 16 if parental consent is given.

Wisconsin

In Wisconsin, the legal minimum age without parental permission is 18.


With parental consent, the legal minimum age becomes 16.

Wyoming

In Wyoming, a person can be married at the age of 18 without parental consent.

If parental consent is given, a person can legally marry at the age of 16.

District Of Columbia

In the District of Columbia, you can be married at 18 without parental permission.

With parental consent, a person can be married at the age of 16.

Little Vegas Chapel Is Your Las Vegas Wedding Destination

If you’re living in Las Vegas and are looking to get married, then book your wedding with the Little Vegas Chapel. Here we offer a wide variety of booking options to give you an experience to remember.

You can contact us today if you have any questions. We’d love to hear from you!

If you’re wanting to tie the knot in the American City of Lights, then you can’t go wrong with the Little Vegas Chapel!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Share This Story

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn

More From The Little Vegas Chapel

More Stories Like This

2022 wedding trends

2022 Wedding Trends

2022 Wedding Trends 2022 is nearly upon us so it’s likely that you have started considering 2022 wedding trends to implement to your own wedding!

Read More »

We Are Here For You

We care about your experience. Fill in your details and we’ll contact you shortly.